My James Bond Retrospective: Live and Let Die

nate nakao

At this point, I feel it’s necessary for me to tell you about what might be informing my opinions about these movies (and I’m sure might have informed your opinions at some point or another as well). My enjoyment of one particular Bond film is often influenced by how I felt about the previous film. It might be unscientific to allow the previous Bond film to mar my opinion of its successor, but I feel I’m justified in doing so since a sequel should almost always be graded according to its predecessor.

Following Diamonds Are Forever, Broccoli and Saltzman attempted to re-cast Sean Connery as Bond. Thankfully, he declined. They turned to Clint Eastwood, who also declined, believing that Bond should be played by an Englishman. United Artists wanted an American, however, and Burt Reynolds, Paul Newman, and Robert Redford were all considered for the role. Eventually, Roger Moore…

View original post 703 more words

By Nicholas Maithya Posted in Reviews

Leave a Reply

